If you have a lot of people (or bots) registering on your site that end up doing nothing with their account they may as well be deleted.
AJdG User Cleaner works on a daily schedule to check and delete unused accounts that registered 2 weeks before. This means that the new registrant has 2 weeks to do something with their account. Doing something means; post a comment, create a page or create a blogpost.
Additionally AJdG User Cleaner supports WooCommerce and bbPress.
If the user creates an order in WooCommerce or a topic or reply in bbPress the account is not deleted.
If either WooCommerce or bbPress is not active those will not count towards deleting the users.
This works very simple, AJdG User Cleaner checks applicable accounts for the required activities.
The simplicity of the plugin also means that no warning or notification is given when deleting accounts.
Accounts are not placed in a trash bin. Deleting of accounts is permanent.
- Daily delete unused accounts
- Check for user activity before deleting
- Sends an email to the administration email address with how many accounts were deleted that day
- Supports WooCommerce checks is the account has orders
- Supports bbPress checks if topics and replies are posted by the account
- Navigate to Plugins > Add New in your dashboard.
- Search for ‘AJdG User Cleaner’ or ‘Arnan User Cleaner’ in the plugin database and click install on the AJdG User Cleaner plugin.
- Activate AJdG User Cleaner when done.
- Useless users will be deleted in the background from now on. This plugin has no settings.
I have other activities not covered by this plugin
AJdG User Cleaner does not check for it. So the user may be deleted.
How do I know the plugin works
AJdG User Cleaner sends a email notification when the cycle is finished and users have been deleted.
Alternatively you can check your Users dashboard, if a bunch went ‘missing’… Well, there you go.
Will this delete administrator accounts?
AJdG User Cleaner will never delete Administrator or Editor accounts.
All other accounts can be deleted.
Can I recover deleted accounts?
No, there is no trash bin or undo button.
The deleted user can of-course register a new account.
Will this delete all user data?
All associated meta data will be deleted using the official wp_delete_user() function.
Where are the settings?
This plugin has no settings and works silently in the background.
Will this overload the site?
Generally no. However, if you have many accounts, say 3000 or more, the first cycle of deletions may include many accounts.
This can slow down your site for a few seconds. After that, only the new accounts are checked.
As an example — when I first used this plugin on a real site it had about 7700 accounts. 2500+ got deleted, this took about 10 seconds.
I’ve cleaned out old accounts but they are not deleted
Simply de-activate and re-activate the plugin to start over.
Remember, this counts as a first run, so the first cycle may take a few seconds.
I need help with this plugin
You can ask your questions on my support forum.
This is cool, do you have more plugins?
Yep, check out my website AJdG Solutions
There are no reviews for this plugin.
Contributors & Developers
“AJdG User Cleaner” is open source software. The following people have contributed to this plugin.Contributors
1.0.4 — 25 January, 2022
- Tested to work with WordPress 5.9
- Tested to work with ClassicPress 1.3.1
1.0.3 — 20 June, 2021
- Updated readme.txt
- Tested to work with WordPress 5.7
1.0.2 — 25 January, 2021
- Happy New Year
- Updated readme.txt
- Tested to work with WordPress 5.6
1.0.1 — 3 August, 2020
- Tested to work with WordPress 5.5
- First version